ARC Review: We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

This is the first book I read from this author and I absolutely loved her style.

28243032

About the book: 

“You go through life thinking there’s so much you need. . . . Until you leave with only your phone, your wallet, and a picture of your mother.”

Marin hasn’t spoken to anyone from her old life since the day she left everything behind. No one knows the truth about those final weeks. Not even her best friend Mabel. But even thousands of miles away from the California coast, at college in New York, Marin still feels the pull of the life and tragedy she’s tried to outrun. Now, months later, alone in an emptied dorm for winter break, Marin waits. Mabel is coming to visit and Marin will be forced to face everything that’s been left unsaid and finally confront the loneliness that has made a home in her heart.


 

Review: 

We Are Okay is about friendship and family more than anything, it has LGBT themes but it’s not the main theme even though it helps the development of the main character. I loved the pace of the book and that I could get inside the story every time grabbed the book. The pace of the book is soft and easy to read. Like I thought when I was reading it, this is my type of YA book.

This book is very short, I finished it so fast that I wanted more. I wanted to live inside this story for a longer time. I don’t know if this is bad or good.

This is the type of book I would like everyone to read. I loved it so much. I read it back in December and I’ve been dying to see it on shelves so everyone can enjoy this amazing book.

 

 

Digital Review Copy from Edelweiss.

6 comments

Leave a comment